I have to start by saying I didn’t understand all the fuss about Cream Brulee.  I mean come on such a simple dessert with so ordinary ingredients what was all the fuss. I had had custard and pudding so how different could it be and how could it be that much better? Then I thought I would give it a try and try I did!  Not hard at all to make, doesn’t take a lot of time to make, the longest part is waiting for it to chill. Tried the oven method for caramelizing it works but bought a torch and WOW what a difference.

This unassuming classic is decadent! Simple, luscious, creamy goodness topped off with a crisp, glassy caramelized sugar. And to go over the top use vanilla bean and get the beautiful perfume and seeds then add fresh raspberries to this decadent dessert what a classic.  I am in love!_DSC6507 (2)

I started making this years ago and still love the classic finish it gives to a meal.

What you need:

  • Ramekin dishes are little bowls that are shallow and made just for Cream Brulee
  • Large cake pan for the water bath
  • Oven or torch for caramelizing

Preheat the oven to 300°F

Place your ramekins in the cake pan and bring about 4 cups of water to a boil and set aside until time to bake.

  • 6 Egg yolks I use jumbo for large you’ll need 8 yolks
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • dash of salt
  • 1 vanilla bean split down the middle and seeds removed

Place the eggs in the bowl of a mixer along with the sugar whip on high speed until fluffy. Meanwhile in a medium saucepan place the cream, salt and vanilla bean and seeds over medium heat. Heat until just under the boiling point

Enjoy,

Live life one dessert at a time                                                                                                             Making sure you savor it and                                                                                                                Find pleasure in its sweetness

Lury

_DSC6317

