DSC_0551

I woke up at 5:45 thinking why am I up so early.  Well, My brain was on over time and I was excited to have my 15-year-old nephew visiting. So my brain was ahead of things even if I did want to be. I guess my subconscious mind was telling me with a teen come to visit we must need to have teen foods. And what better to feed a teen that hamburgers! So… since I was already up I made dough for hamburger buns and got the ground beef out of the freezer. As I was kneading the dough I was thinking of how exciting this adventure must be for him.  Never having flown before or travel without his parents.

As I was kneading the dough I was thinking of how exciting this adventure must be for him.  Never having flown before or travel without his parents. How exciting and a little scary at the same time such a right of passage.  When you realize you’re able to rely on yourself to figure it all out.

At least he’s flying into the largest airport in the world Atlanta International.  I’m sure He’ll do great.  When he arrives at the little airport near our home it will be a stark contrast.  The Killeen airport serves the Fort Hood U.S. Military base (which happens to be the largest military base in the world). Every flight has service members on it. You get to see our brave men and women coming and going from all over the world. But this is a very small airport with only one runway.

As I type this he is flying over Florida on his way!

Safe travel sweet young man.

 

DSC_0551

Help teen visiting must have hamburger buns!

  • 3 ½ cups (15 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup lukewarm water
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon instant yeast

In a large bowl or bowl of a stand mixer add warm water, yeast and sprinkle yeast over the top let sit 5 to 10 minutes to proof.

Add flour, melted butter, egg, salt mix well if working by hand turn out onto floured work surface and knead to a smooth dough. Dusting as need. For the mixer add everything and mix for 8 to 10 minutes.  Form dough into a ball spray with cooking oil and turn cover with plastic wrap.  Let rise for 2 hours.

Turn the risen dough out onto work surface divide into 8 equal pieces.  Flatten each piece and fold in all side to form a ball flatten to into a disk about 3 ½ inches across. Place in a burger bun on a sheet pan.  Let rise in a warm place covered with plastic wrap or damp towel for about 1 hour or until double in size.

Brush buns with egg wash and sprinkle with sesame seed or leave plain if you like. Bake in a 375° f oven for 15 to 18 minutes, until golden. Remove from oven, and cool on a rack.

I would also like to say a BIG THANK YOU to the brave men and women that serve in our military Happy Memorial Day to you and your families.

Image result for pictures of the american flag

Hope you enjoy!

Lury

