Tags

,

This share is from Heather Christ she has great recipes for people with challenging dietary restrictions that taste great.  This frozen treat is another graving crusher for those of you who have dairy issues or just want a sweet alternative to dairy ice cream.

Heather Christo is a mom, wife, chef, blogger and author living in Seattle. She focuses on family meals and celebrations as opportunities to share love and joy through food. A Le Cordon Bleu trained chef, Heather worked in a Michelin-starred restaurant in San Francisco before opening her own catering company in Seattle. In 2007, she hung up her chef’s coat to start a family. As she immersed herself in caring for small children, she grew to understand the difficulty of feeding and nourishing a family under intense demands. Life with a husband and 2 young daughters provided new inspiration for Heather, who soon discovered new ways to make fast, nutritious and delicious meals that would be loved by all. This inspired the launch of her blog in 2007, dedicated to elegant and approachable recipes for the home cook. In early 2014, Heather and her two young daughters were all diagnosed with severe food allergies, which led to a complete overhaul in the way they were eating and living. Now, every recipe that comes out of Heather’s kitchen is free of gluten, dairy and eggs, as well as many that are additionally nut, soy, and cane sugar free. Heather publishes six days a week and has 1400 recipes and counting on her web site. She is the Author of Generous Table, easy and elegant recipes through the seasons, (KYLE books, 2013) and the upcoming Pure Delicious, 8 weeks and 200 Allergy Free Recipes to a New Normal, (Clarkson Potter, Spring 2016). And you can find her Heathermade allergen free baked goods in select Costco stores starting this fall.

Heather’s blog:

http://heatherchristo.com/

Dairy-Free Almond Joy Ice Cream

When I was a young girl, my mom would buy 6 half-gallons of Snow Star ice cream at a time, filling our freezer. Snow Star ice cream was inexpensive, which helped when you had two sons and a husband who could handily polish off a carton at a time. I can remember my brothers coming home from high school sports practice and eating a carton each, with chocolate syrup from a bottle that they likewise easily emptied in one sitting. I, on the other hand, could only watch from the sidelines. I’m allergic to dairy and ice cream indulgences were always followed by terribly tummy aches. So I stuck to popsicles instead.

Then I went through many years of simply ignoring my dairy allergy, and turned into the queen of cheese, lattes, and of course, ice cream. Especially during my pregnancies. My husband Pete went through a major sympathy pregnancy stage as well, which meant he, too, needed to eat ice cream every night.

Dairy-Free Chocolate Almond Joy Ice Cream

We lived with my parents during most of my first pregnancy, and Pete would head to the store and return with cartons of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream and all kinds of mix-ins like candy and cookies. My dad could barely hide his joy. After all, the last time he was allowed to eat that much ice cream was probably back when we were all still in high school.

Dairy-Free Chocolate Almond Joy Ice Cream

After my last pregnancy, my ice cream cravings really tapered off. As much as I loved it still, I just couldn’t take the pain that followed. A few years ago, when I re-committed to taking care of my health and acknowledged my dairy allergy (as well as some other allergies I had), I thought I was done with ice cream for good. But because my kids are also allergic to dairy, I felt like I just had to figure out a way for them to enjoy it and not have to live without it.

Dairy-Free Chocolate Almond Joy Ice Cream

So over the last few years, I’ve been working on dairy-free ice cream. And I think I’ve finally mastered the creamiest, most delicious versions made with coconut cream. This particular version will remind you of an Almond Joy bar, which happens to be my favorite flavor combination: creamy milk chocolate, toasted almonds, chocolate chunks, and coconut. The best ever, and SO easy! Whether you need to avoid dairy or not, this is incredibly delicious and I think it just might be the best dessert ever.

Recipe Summary

Dairy Free Chocolate Almond Joy Ice Cream

Prep Time:
20 Minutes
Difficulty:
Easy
Cook Time:
15 Minutes
Servings:
8 Servings

Ingredients

  • 2 cans (14 Oz. Size) Unsweetened Coconut Cream (See Note)
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 cup Chilled Coconut Milk
  • 3 Tablespoons Cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup Chocolate Chips, Vegan And Soy-free
  • 1 cup Shredded Sweetened Coconut
  • 1 cup Toasted Slivered Almonds

Instructions

In a medium sauce pan over medium heat, combine coconut cream, sugar, cocoa powder, vanilla and kosher salt. Whisk over medium heat for about 2–3 minutes until sugar has dissolved and cocoa is completely mixed into the coconut cream.

In a small Tupperware or Mason jar, combine coconut milk and corn starch and shake well. Pour the cornstarch combination into the sauce pan while stirring over medium heat. Continue to cook and stir over medium heat until the mixture thickens, 3–5 minutes. Take the mixture off of the stove top and pour it into a bowl.

Let the ice cream base cool until it is room temperature, then refrigerate for at least 1 hour and up to overnight.

Pour into an ice cream maker and churn according to manufacturer’s directions (this will usually take about 15–20 minutes). When there are just a few minutes of churning left, add chocolate chips, coconut and almonds. Churn another minute and then stop the ice cream maker.

Transfer the ice cream (which should be like soft serve at this point) to a freezer-proof container and freeze at least 2 hours. Scoop and serve!

Makes about 1 quart.

Notes:
1. Trader Joe’s carries a great brand of canned unsweetened coconut cream. Do NOT buy Coco Lopez, which is a cocktail mixer.
2. Prep time does not include 3 hours cooling and freezing time.

