_DSC5966I will start out saying I love chocolate! I looooove chocolate sooo much that I literally eat at least a small piece everyday. But I should be clear there are to things that make it worth eating. 1. It must to be good chocolate 2. The darker and more cocoa the better!

This love of chocolate must be genetic because both of my sons love it too.  The boys have always made cookies and bread or anything I happen to be cooking or baking at the time with me.  We have a good time cooking together and enjoy trying out new foods.  But brownies have always been Corey’s thing.  Over the years, we have tried many different recipes and we have loved most of them.   But… we have one that we always seem to come back to, it’s the one he really loves.  It’s simple one bowl and not a lot of work we have made them since he was little.  It’s still one of my favorite things to bake together.  It’s like he becomes a little boy again, not this sweet grown-up man with a full beard that’s as big as me (how can my oldest be 25!). I hope you enjoy them as much as we have over the years and continue even today.

Brownies:

  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce (1 pre-package lunch size cup unsweetened)
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup palm sugar or granulated works too
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 12 ounce package dark chocolate chips 60% cocoa save ¼ cup for topping
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

Pre-heat oven to 350°F. Place the butter and chocolate chips in a medium size (6 cup size) microwave safe bowl heat on high for one and a half minutes (1 ½).  Stir butter and chips if you need to heat longer only microwave for 10 seconds at a time checking and stirring until all chips are melted. When the chips are melted add the vanilla, apple sauce, egg, flour, salt and baking soda.  Stir just until all the ingredients are blended. Pour in to a greased baking pan, spread the batter out and sprinkle the remainding chips and walnuts on top. (I add a sprinkling of seasalt perimids on top of mine for an add touch). bake at 350°F for 20 to 25 minutes.  The center will still be slightly soft let cool completely before slicing.

Slice and serve these keep for about a week if they last that long.

Enjoy,

Life is sweet savor the delights.

Lury

 

_DSC5965

