Tags

DSC_4235

Maybe I should have titled this post Mediterranean with looooots of fresh tomatoes and cucumbers I have reached deep for avenues to use them up.We’ve been joying the wonderful fresh treasures of summer.  So the other morning after pick lots of cucumbers and tomatoes I thought why not have a Greek salad.  Now one thing lead to another and this ended up meaning I had to make pickles as well.  Not sure how that connects up with Greek food but I made pickles too.  I will post that next time.  I planted two kinds of cucumbers  one is the long English seedless (not sure why they call them seedless because they do have seeds) the other type are pickling cucumbers.   I have to start by saying I HAVE NEVER had any luck growing cucumbers!  Now that’s off my chest,  I will tell you this year is the year for me to grow cucumbers.  In the past I have tried and the either the plant doesn’t grow or  the plant grows without blooming.  And  yes the year I only had one or two and they were too bitter to eat.   So it’s safe to say I am no expert at growing cucumbers.  But for some reason this year they grew.  Not sure if I did something right or nature did. At any rate they’re coming out of my ears or at least my raised bed garden.  The flavor is very mild and sweet, I no your thinking every says the food they grow is the best but really these are the tastes English cucumber with lots of flavor.  I consulted my friend Emily, who has had success with gardening.  She tells me I planted at just the right time of spring and that is why they have such a good flavor and are producing so many.  I don’t know if this is true but I’m but she not usually wrong when it comes to plants so we’re enjoy the cucumbers while we can.

Salad:

  • 2 English cucumbers thinly slices
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes slice in half
  • 1 medium purple onion thinly sliced
  • 4 cups spinach leaves or whatever greens you prefer
  • 1 cup feta cheese
  • 1 cup Greek olives (pitted kalamata)

Dressing:

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/4 cup white balsamic vinegar
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1 1/2 tablespoons honey
2 garlic cloves, finely minced or pressed
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

Divide salad on four large plates add cheese and olives and serve with dressing.

 

Not everyone is meant to be in your future. Some people are just passing through to teach you lessons in life.    

— Unknown

Enjoy,

Lury

