Tags

wpid-20141229_175951.jpg

Just had to show off the great Christmas gift my sweet sister got for me.   After Changing our Christmas plans from us having the in-laws in for the holiday to us traveling to their home in Kentucky.  My mother-in-law has had health issues and was unable to travel.  So she was upset that she wouldn’t get to see us for Christmas or the past year for that matter.  That’s when we thought we would make a sort of surprise visit and head to our home state.  Well first of all this is not an easy task when you live 16 to 18 hours away from that state.  But we did and with 4 drivers 2 Aussie pups and a cat  we loaded up in the suburban and head up to the cold.

This is a long trip and with rain it seems even longer but it was great to spend time with family members.  My little sister and her family live about 45 minutes from the in-laws.   Our guys love this because my nephew and niece are there and they couldn’t wait hanging out with their cousins.  Lots of Nerf gun fights and jam sessions for the guitar rockers.  We hadn’t spent Christmas with them in years so it was a special time.  We even got to see a few old friends and share a birthday with my nephew.  It’s was a long trip but a good one!

DSC_0766 (3)

So back to my gift, my sister not only follows my blog but is one of my biggest supporters.  She knows my taste so well and knew I would love this slate lazy Susan for my photos.  Who doesn’t like stone and stainless?  It also happens to match my kitchen and I just love it!  Thank sis (Rita) you’re so thoughtful!

Now you get to see it in action with a breakfast you would love Waffles with sausage and fresh berries.

DSC_0774 (2)

My guys love waffles and they are so simple to make you just need a good waffle maker and your set.

Batter:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) melted butter
  • 2 eggs separated Place your egg whites in a separate bowl large enough to whip them or the bowl of a mixer
  • spray oil for the waffle griddle

Heat your waffle maker then start to mix the batter that way you will be ready to cook.

Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl and mix together.  In a medium bowl mix together the buttermilk, egg yolk, and butter mix well then add to the flour mix.  Beat the egg whites until the form soft peaks then fold into the batter.  Place the suggested amount of batter on the griddle and close the top.  Serve with butter, maple syrup, fruit and whipped cream for a wonderful breakfast treat.  These make a great dessert too!

DSC_0783

Last bite now get to work!

