Tags

DSC_0037 (4)

These turtles turned out so good I had to make another batch.  Because when I got home to find without a do not eat sign the vanish fast.  Such is life to have to make more goodies is not a punishment for me I whipped up another batch and here they are for you viewing pleasure.

These are made from more of the gifted pecans I spoke of a few days ago.  Boy have I enjoyed having them for holiday treats and so have my taste testers.  They take a little work shelling but that’s what the taste testers are good at crack and shelling pecans for me.  I think it a pretty good estrangement a little work for some sweet treats!

Method:

  • 1 bag Kraft caramel bits
  • 1 bag dark or milk chocolate
  • 2 to 3 cups whole pecan halves (toast the pecans for 10 minutes in a 350°f oven) optional

2 parchment or silpat lined baking sheets.  20 minutes to 2 hours chill time.  Melt the caramel bits to package direction.  In a microwave safe glass bowl melt the chocolate for 1 minute stir then melt for 10 seconds at a time until melted.  Be sure to stir after each heating to check if it has melted.

I had some left over heath bar crunch I sprinkled on the chocolate

Arrange all the pecans in a shape of 4 pecans for legs and 1 as the head on the cookie sheets.  Add a Tablespoon or so of melted caramel to the center being sure to cover the pecan all but a small part of the outside ends.  Cover the caramel with chocolate and let set until firm.

I had some left over heath bar crunch I sprinkled on the chocolate (optional)

Hope you enjoy the cute little morsels

Lury

