Tags

DSC_0030 (5)

This is a treat for any cooking skill level it takes few ingredients and the choice of toppings is endless.  The basic pretzel rods you find in any grocery or convenient store will do.  I get a big barrel of pretzels at tractor supply for around  $4.00.  I like Ghirardelli 60 percent dark chocolate or their milk or white chocolate.  They melt great and can be melted in the microwave under a watchful eye.   I have to make sure to make these little gems when I’m home alone or they disappear as quickly as I make them.  I experimented with Reese’s peanut butter chips this time and they are a real hit.  I had to post a sign on them while the candy set to keep my tasters from eating them all up.  As soon as I took the pictures the tin disappeared I don’t think I’ll see it again!

DSC_0021

Ingredients:

  • Bag or Barrel of pretzel rods
  • Several bags of candy dark, milk or white chocolate
  • try the Reese’ peanut butter they  bring out the kid in you!
  • Coconut shortening or Spectrum or Crisco
  • crushed candy cane, chopped nuts, heath bar crunch or just holiday sprinkles work for make them fancy or add flavor
  • Parchment, Waxed paper or silpat to line your pans

In a microwave safe dish add two cups of candy morsel and melt on 50 0/0 heat for 1 minute.  Stir the chips and heat for 10 seconds at a time stirring after each heating until the morsels are smooth and completely melted.  Dip pretzels in chocolate one at a time using a spoon or rubber spatula to coat all but the end.  Dip into your choice of candies, nuts or place on the parchment and cover with sprinkles.  Repeat until all pretzels are covered.  I suggest you only melt one chocolate or peanut butter chips at a time so not to set to quickly.  This goes pretty quick if you have a helper on a few then you can use multiple chocolates at once.  Let the coated pretzels sit depending on the temperature of your home the will set in 30 minutes to as long as 2 hours or so if you need them to set sooner chill for a 15 minutes in the freezer or refrigerator.

Have Fun and Enjoy!

Lury

DSC_0030 (2)

