Tags

DSC_0018

Chocolate Covered Cashew Caramel Apples and Cashew Covered Caramel Apples

If you haven’t made caramel apples in a while this is the time of the year to make them.  There so many varieties available from sweet to tart there’s a taste for everyone. We don’t have a very many apple orchards in Texas but, the farmers markets and stores are full of all the varieties.  Maybe you’ll be lucky enough to live near an orchard that has fresh apples and cider.

Last year  I found these Kraft caramel bits at the grocery they melt up quickly.  Another bonus is you don’t have to remove any wrappers.  Yeah no wrapper!   So boy was I glad to see they had them again this year!  Honestly, I don’t like peeling the plastic wrappers off caramel.

For this batch I used granny smith and pink lady both for their tartness which is great for offsetting the sweetness of the caramel.   But you can choose whatever apple you like, I know it’s a personal choice. Then I added cashews  for crunch and a touch of sea-salt too.  I usually dip them in chocolate and then nuts but,  I had a bag of chocolate covered cashews (which happen to be my sweetie’s favorite)  so I thought I would experiment and he loved them.  I couldn’t resist while I was taking the pictures I cut one of the apples and it looked oh so good!  I ended up eating! I guess the picture-taking or maybe it was the  typing made me hungry.  nah! It just look so darn good I had to have one.

Oh! what a treat!  So go out and enjoy the sweet taste of fall it has so much to offer.

Carmel Covered Apples

Method:

  • 1 bag Kraft caramel bits or bag of caramel squares
  • 2 Tablespoons of water
  • 5 to 6 apples depending on size
  • cashews, chocolate covered cashews,  peanuts, chocolate chip, peanut butter chips or heath bar crunch
  • bowl or sink of water and 2 Tablespoons white vinegar

Heat a few inches of  water in double broiler or a medium bowl over a simmering pot of water. Wash the apples in a sink bowl or a clean sink.  You need just enough water to cover the tops.  Add 2 Tablespoons of white vinegar this will help remove the wax and make sure the caramel will stick properly.

Melt caramel bits with 2 tablespoons of water in a bowl of a double broiler. Over simmering water it takes about 10 minutes for the caramel to become very smooth and liquid. Stir the caramel to make sure the bits are melted and none are still solid.  After you have washed the apples and place a popsicle stick or chop stick into each one. At this point be sure they are completely dry then your ready to dip.  Dip each apple into the caramel and spoon caramel over the apple until completely covered.   Hold the apple over the pan and let the excess drip off shaking a little to help it along. carefully scrap the excess caramel off the bottom of the apple the dip it in to melted chocolate or roll it into the chips, nuts or candy of choice.  Place the finished apple and place on the parchment covered baking sheet and dip the rest until all caramel and apples.  Refrigerate for at least and hour to set the caramel.  Remove 10 before serving and eat whole or slice for easy eating.

DSC_0023 (2)

A few goodies you can cover your apples with to make the extra special.

Place the candy in a small bowl larger enough to dip and roll the apple in to coat them after they’re covered in caramel.

DSC_0007

Chop 2 cups of salted cashews and place in a bowl for coating caramel covered apples.

DSC_0010 (3)

This one didn’t stand a chance

As you can see the caramel bits do not included the popsicle sticks so I used chop stick that I cut in half.  The stick is just so you can easily dip the apples.  Yes I’m a slicer I like to eat the apple in slices because it so much easier but, If you like it whole then by all means eat it however you enjoy it.

DSC_0019 (2)

Chop 2 cups of chocolate covered cashews place in  a bowl for coating caramel covered apples.  The men in my house like the chocolate covered cashew variety the best but, said the just nut covered was also good.    I was able to make apples out of mine but the apples were a large size.

 

 

