Tags

,

CSC_0060

If you’re a bacon eater…  Which I am,  I just love to eat it but, I don’t like the splatter of the oil as it cooks.  That’s not a problem for you with this method of cooking.  It’s so easy anyone can do it. Your going to bake it so start that oven preheating and get out a baking sheet.

I love a good salad,  I’m sure I’ve said that before but it’s  true. This is a favorite of mine for lunch or dinner it’s just so satisfying and taste great too.  For the dressing you’ve gotta have ranch.  I like to make my own but in a pinch I have been known to use the ole Hidden Vally.  But if you’d like to make it yourself then here’s the recipe.

For the Dressing:

  • 1 Cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  •  garlic 1 clove minced or 1/2 teaspoon powdered
  • 1 teaspoon fresh or dried chives
  • dash of cayenne or red pepper
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • freshly ground pepper to taste

I like to use the emulation blender or a shaker bottle to blend well.  Chill while your bacon and croutons cook.

 

DSC_0051

 

This is the easiest way to cook bacon hands down.  You can just lay the bacon right on the baking sheet but, if you place a cooling rack in the pan first it lets the fat drip off leaving just the nicely crisped bacon.  Now pre-heat your oven to 400º first.  Place your bacon on the rack or just the baking sheet.  Place in a pre-heated 400º degree oven and bake for 20 to 30 minutes depending on how crispy you like it.  Then your ready to make BLT’s or a side of bacon with your pancakes or chocolate dipped or ……..    I could go on forever okay let’s get back on track.  Can you tell I really like bacon.  But today it’s BLT salad and you guessed it you can’t have a BLT without bacon.

 

 

DSC_0055

 

As you can see the one in the front has a different kind of cheese on it.  No you where not mistaken I have someone in my household that doesn’t like blue cheese.  I know.. I know..  It’s blasphemy we’ve had long talks about he and I but, he refuses to budge. So I gave in that’s what a mom has to do sometimes.  So I give  him feta cheese instead and I won’t hold it against him.

 

DSC_0057

 

For the croutons they are so easy to make just leftover dinner rolls or whatever bread you have.  Cut 4 dinner rolls or slices of bread into cubes the size you like and sprinkle them with garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, salt and pepper pour 4 Tablespoons of olive oil on the cubes and toss.  Place them on a cookie sheet and bake them in the oven right along with the bacon.  be sure to check them after 10 minutes.  Toast the croutons to however dry toasted goodness you want like light or dark it’s all good.

DSC_0053

Chop your lettuce, tomatoes and bacon to the size you like and pile it on.

CSC_0060

Add the cheese and dressing and your ready to eat!

DSC_0063

For the Salad:

  • 2 heads romaine lettuce rinsed dried and chopped
  • 4 tomatoes cubed
  • Blue cheese or feta crumbled
  • croutons
  • ranch dressing
  • salt and pepper to taste

For the Dressing:

  • 1 Cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  •  garlic 1 clove minced or 1/2 teaspoon powdered
  • 1 teaspoon fresh or dried chives
  • dash of cayenne or red pepper
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • freshly ground pepper to taste

I like to use the emulation blender or a shaker bottle to blend well.  Chill while your bacon and croutons cook.

Croutons:

  • Cut 4 dinner rolls or slices of bread into cubes the size
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • parsley
  • salt and pepper
  • pour 4 Tablespoons of olive oil on the cubes and toss

Toss until bread is well coated and bake in a 400º degree oven for 10  minutes toss to toast all sides evenly.  This should only take around 20 minutes at the most.

