Tags

DSC_0009 (2)

I  just love spinach salads I not much for cooked spinach unless it is in a dish but fresh  beat!  I have several way I like to make spinach salad but,  since it’s fall I thought the apples and apple dressing were fitting.  I use a boiled apple cider in my dressing that I found on the king Arther web site.  I decided to order it after reading the comments people had left about how delicious it taste and smells.  I was not disappointed the reviews are spot it has an intense flavor that takes to off to a distant orchard.  I used it in cake donuts and apple pie with great results and now salad dressing great taste with lots of uses.

Now I know I have another new ingredient it’s walnut oil.  I found this years ago in the super market right next to the regular oils.  It taste great and I love to make dressing or use it in special cake recipes.  I keep it refrigerated so it doesn’t spoil being a nut oil that happens quicker that most oils but chill it and it last a long time.  If you can’t find it just use whatever salad oil you have on hand. The rest is straight forward hope you enjoy it.

Spinach Apple Salad with Boiled Cider Dressing

Serves 4 side salads or 2 meal salads

Salad:

  • 8 Cups Spinach
  • 1 firm apple like honey crisp or pink lady
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 4 slices of blue cheese

Divide spinach between 4 bowls.  Slice apple into thin slices and divide slice among the salads.  Add a slice of cheese for each and put a pile of walnuts on each.

DSC_0022

Dressing:

  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar
  • 4 Tablespoons boiled cider
  • 1/2 cup walnut oil
  • 1 Tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper to taste

Whisk together and pour over salads

Serve

DSC_0008 (3)

